Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: learning to shoot properly!  (Read 1150 times)

Offline Clem

• Trad Bowhunter
learning to shoot properly!
« on: October 04, 2007, 01:08:00 PM »
Just a few thoughts about practice and proper form. I've been shooting my longbow for about 8 months now and have been inconsistent at best. I have no one to help me learn how to shoot, except a few books and the internet. I've read on this site and others that to ingrain proper form into my muscle memory I should "blind bale shoot". Well after 8 months "blind bale" shooting did absolutly nothing for me. Actually it made me worse. The problem I found with that style of shooting is there is no feedback. At 10 feet with no spot on the target to shoot at you do not know if you made a well executed shot or not. When I moved back to 12 yards and shot a bare shaft, it was wasy to tell if my form was off. If my form was not good, I would not be near the spot I was shooting at, and usually my arrow would not be sticking in the target any where near to straight. I thought this may help some new archers like it helped me. If you don't have someone to watch you shoot, or don't have a video camera I don't think that blind bale shooting will do any good until you actually learn what proper form is. One last thing, when I draw my bow, split fingered, to the corner of my moth and release I can't shoot worth a darn. I borrowed a video camera and found that I can't get my elbow to come straight back upon release until I draw just slightly past the corner of my mouth. When I draw just a little past the corner of my mouth my elbow lines up with the shaft perfectly and I can feel my back muscles pulling much more. Sorry for the long post, I thought that maybe I could help someone get past what has been bothering me so long. Now that I have gotten past these two things I can confidenlty shoot out to about 24 yards.

Offline JC

• Trad Bowhunter