Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting down from stand  (Read 3699 times)

Offline doublewhopper

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting down from stand
« on: October 26, 2007, 06:04:00 PM »
I have only taken one shot from my stand with my recurve and my arrow went over the deers back by a few feet.  

What changes when you take a downward shot with traditional archery?  How do you compensate for the lack of paradox?

Offline NoCams

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting down from stand
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2007, 06:16:00 PM »
Draw your bow in the upright posistion and then bend over at the waist, keep the , " T " form in your upper body. What you did was most likely lowered your bow shoulder instead of bending at the waist. Number one cause of shooting high out of the tree. I am no expert for sure, but this is what I have been told.

nocams
TGMM  Family of the Bow
"Failure to plan is planned failure"

Offline Scott J. Williams

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2007, 06:45:00 PM »
NoCams is correct, bending at the waist is the best method.  I have another idea to add, when shooting at game from an elevated position, you will see far more of the other side of the animal, in other words you see the spine, and the off side.  

This can make the target area appear to be wider than it really is.  Most people will not focus on the side nearest to them, and not pick the spot.  Couple this with a tendency to shoot way to fast and you have the high arrow syndrone.  

In addition to bending at the waist, I have begun to make my self hold after I find the spot I intend to hit,  an extra count and one half.  My high shots have almost completely disappeared.

Barry Wensel once said, "when you encounter game, and the shot is rushed, the tendency is to shoot high'.