Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: SPLIT VS. 3 UNDER  (Read 2024 times)

Offline arkiewoodsman

• Trad Bowhunter
SPLIT VS. 3 UNDER
« on: November 02, 2007, 12:31:00 PM »
ive been shooting a longbow for a few months and the first advice i got was to shoot three under. i am fairly accurate that way at 20 yards or so but i see all the greats shooting split fingered. as dumb as this sounds i want to shoot split even though id have to relearn and im not as accurate. im also having a hard time finding a good anchor point since with 3 under i touch the fletching to the tip of my nose. what now? thoughts?
mmaman    :banghead:
be the kind of man your dog thinks you are. arkiewoodsman

Black Widow Longbow
45# @ 28

Offline Rick D

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: SPLIT VS. 3 UNDER
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2007, 08:50:00 PM »
i know exactly what you are thinking, i went thru that too when my father saw that i shot 3 under ( he shoots split). i didn't even know that i was doing it really, it just felt better, which leads me to my point. Do what works for you!!! i finally made the decision to shoot MY WAY! thats what all the greats did, they shot their way. Whether you're talking about Gap vs Instinctive or 3under vs Split. Maybe thats what made them legends, they forged their own trails. thats just the conclusion i have come too.

Rick
Its all Gary Paulsen's fault, he got me dreaming about a bent stick and string.

Striker Slapstik LB 56", 54lbs@28"

Offline Scott J. Williams

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 10:01:00 AM »
While I shoot split finger, I agree with Rick. I would say that a lot of the current "Greats" shoot three fingers under.   Having said that, here are few things that might make your transition a little smoother.