Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: instictive @ short range but what about long range  (Read 1905 times)

Offline arkiewoodsman

• Trad Bowhunter
instictive @ short range but what about long range
« on: January 20, 2008, 12:39:00 AM »
I have been shooting purely instictive now for a few months and i am pretty accurate at 25 yards but the further the harder. is it possible to shoot 50, 60, 75 yards instictive or do most instictive shooters begin to use some form of aiming point(tip of arrow? ect?? at longer distances. thanks,

arkiewoodsman
be the kind of man your dog thinks you are. arkiewoodsman

Black Widow Longbow
45# @ 28

Offline Jack Whitmire Jr

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: instictive @ short range but what about long range
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 07:18:00 AM »
arkiewoodsman

I have noticed the same thing over the past 15 years . If my memory serves me right In Fred Asbells' book he says that not many instinctive archers are real good past 25 yards. I saw a 3 under shooter shooting peices os picket fence slats at 90 yards stood up in an ant hill, he says he shoots gap . Anyhow I think you would be correct in saying that most archers are using a gap or refernece past 25 yards, Just my opinion  :)

Jack
Tolerance is a virtue of a man without any  Morals- unknown author

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 09:16:00 AM »
"is it possible to shoot 50, 60, 75 yards instinctive"....yes

"or do most instinctive shooters begin to use some form of aiming point"  don't know that answer, never did a survey.
Tradbowhunting Video Store - https://digitalstore.tradgang.com/

Tradgang Bowhunting Merchandise - https://tradgang.creator-spring.com/?

Tradgang DVD - https://www.tradgang.com/tgstore/index.html

"It's important,  when going after a goal, to never lose sight of the integrity of the journey" - Andy Garcia