Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Snapshooting really a bad thing  (Read 2435 times)

Offline Scout 52

• Trad Bowhunter
Snapshooting really a bad thing
« on: March 15, 2008, 08:58:00 AM »
Hi I'm very new to trad shooting. Although I've been shooting a compound for twenty years. But I've been bitten buy the trad bug. So here is my question and findings. My groups are smaller when I draw the bow hit my anchor and release in one motion. No pausing at full draw. Now when I draw the bow hit my anchor and pause at full draw it seems to me i can't get as smooth of a release and my groups suffer. I shoot instinctive and I think the reason I shoot better is because of I hand coordiniation. I was a shortstop in college and throwing a base ball is alot like shooting instinctive. I never paused to throw the ball across the infield. I just fielded it and in one smooth motion saw my target and released the ball to first base. Not saying that drawing and pausing is a bad thing. I think it works for some people and not others.. Any comments

Ryan

Offline Scott J. Williams

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Snapshooting really a bad thing
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2008, 09:17:00 AM »
I have known just a few in my forty plus years of shooting a bow that were true snap shooters. They were good, very good.  Having said that, it is the exception rather than the norm.

It would appear that you are not getting the good back tension that is a desired effect regardless of the method of shooting a bow.

I find, just my opinion, that release problems are problems that seem to go away when we do the other things we should do in the shot process.

We don't release the string, we loose the string.  One is an act of trying to get rid of the string, the other is letting the bow limbs take the stirng from our fingers.  It is just as simiple as relaxing the back of hand.