Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: bow preference for casual 3-d  (Read 869 times)

Offline ka

• Trad Bowhunter
bow preference for casual 3-d
« on: March 18, 2008, 08:38:00 AM »
would it be preferred to shoot as heavy poundage as you can, for flatter trajectory, or somewhat lighter poundage for more exact placement?? also on a hybrid bow what would be a preferred limb length for this??

Offline wislnwings

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: bow preference for casual 3-d
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 08:47:00 AM »
I'm no expert but I shoot 3D for fun and I figure the more I shoot my hunting bow the better off I am.  So I shoot the same bow and arrow setup I hunt with.

Online Rob DiStefano

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
    • Cavalier Pickups
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2008, 08:54:00 AM »
3D was meant to be hunting practice.  

Some folks regard 3D as a target event and gear up accordingly.

Take yer pick.
IAM ~ The only government I trust is my .45-70 ... and my 1911.

Offline madness522

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2008, 09:05:00 AM »
I use the same set up I do when hunting.  The only thing I vary is in the summer I don't wear my hunting clothes and strap on a side quiver.  I also don't care so much to try to hit every ten ring.  I use the 3D shoots as hunting practice and try to make the shots at the 3D targets the same as I would make hunting.
Barry Clodfelter
TGMM Family of the Bow.

Offline ka

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 09:28:00 AM »
I do shoot my hunting bows in these shoots. 60lb recurves, 58lb longbow. I notice that the flat trajectory of the recurve helps on longer stuff, but it might also help to shoot something a tad lighter as to aid concentration ( I'm still talking hunting weights. thoght maybe about dropping to 55-56lbs. and 62-64" hybrid bow??

Offline Diamond Paul

• Trad Bowhunter