Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: 300 game  (Read 1136 times)

Offline crunch

• Trad Bowhunter
300 game
« on: March 19, 2008, 10:46:00 AM »
I was wondering who shoots the indoor 300 game. What sort of "aiming" technique are you all employing?
I'm playing as I attempt to get somewhat consistent.

crunch

Offline Mark Hedges

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: 300 game
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 07:56:00 PM »
Let me preface this by saying I am far from an expert and there are probably better ways to do this than what I do -

What I do is look down the arrow.  I do not shoot a conscious gap but I do not shoot pure instinctive either, since I am also looking at the arrow.

Mark

Offline ISP 5353

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 09:50:00 PM »
I shoot 3 under and gap for indoor 20yard 300 rounds.

Offline BLACK WOLF

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 10:29:00 PM »
The easiest way to aim is to find a set-up which may also involve changing your anchor point until you can get your arrow tip on the bullseye or near it at full draw. You can learn to use your arrow just as a sight pin. Based on my research...most top 300 barebow shooters aim this way.

An archer can accomplish this by shooting heavy arrows, low poundage bow, longer arrows, raise your anchor point, shoot 3 under and/or string walk.

Ray  ;)

Ray   ;)

Offline longbowguy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2008, 12:37:00 AM »
I choose not to alter my standard form or tackle for an event I don't shoot a great deal. I prefer use it to improve my general archery skill, which it does very nicely. So I just look at the X and try to make a good shot. I haven't set any records but I have won some championships, in the senior longbow division. - lbg

Offline Peachey

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2008, 07:14:00 AM »