Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: back muscles and tension  (Read 1452 times)

Offline anderson2527

• Trad Bowhunter
back muscles and tension
« on: March 30, 2008, 01:43:00 AM »
I am new to traditional archery and I am trying to grasp back tension. When I try to squeeze my shoulder blades together the very tops, above my shoulder blades, of my trapezus muscles are sore. Should those areas be sore? Also, my shoulders make clicking noises when I shoot alot, is this a sign of improper form or too much shooting?
So we'll drink all together
To the gray goose feather
And the land where the gray goose flew. -Doyle

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: back muscles and tension
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2008, 11:47:00 AM »
Good back tension is not easy for many of us to master, as it doesn't immediately register on our brains, like reaching out with your finger and touching something does.  I've been shooting bows for more than 10 years, including some formal instruction, and I just now believe I'm beginning to get it.  Others, who are more naturally adept at the sport, may get it much sooner or not have any problems with it at all.  But I've read of very good archers whose first indication that they lost their back tension was not anything they felt, but just the fact that their arrows were spreading out on the target and there was no other obvious explanation for it.

You can feel back tension if you're focusing mainly on your back, and not on the target, which is one reason why good archers spend some time practicing close to an unmarked target (blind bale): so they can isolate certain parts of their form without worrying about where the arrow is going.