Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Accuracy with Bow quiver?  (Read 1623 times)

Offline Capt

• Trad Bowhunter
Accuracy with Bow quiver?
« on: April 16, 2008, 11:18:00 AM »
I have been working everyday for the last three months to master my fun but sensitive Super Mag 48.  I am finally shooting good groups up to 15-20yds.  I want to put a bow quiver on; I know this will effect the wt of the bow could this have an effect accuracy?

Offline wapiti792

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Accuracy with Bow quiver?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2008, 11:42:00 AM »
To me it depends on how much weight we're talking. I have found shooting a "shorter" bow (a 55 incher) I will feel the extra weight more. I also think that ANYTHING can be practiced out of you. I shoot quivers on both of my bows after swearing them off for years. It took time for me to adjust to the extra weight, but now I feel naked without them. One thought. Keep your quiver loaded minus one arrow and shoot that way. Shooting an empty quiver in practice then showing up in the field with a quiver full of arrows will throw off your left,right accuracy. GOOD LUCK with that 48. They are cool bows!
Mike Davenport

Offline WestTnMan

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2008, 12:08:00 PM »
I shoot a 58" recurve and the quiver improves accuracy. I noticed that the quiver attatched make my bow naturally cant better and the added weight, not much, helps me hold the bow steady until the arrow hits. I use a Great Northern strap on and never take it off. I shoot a few arrows most every day and can instantly notice the groups getting larger without the quiver. Hey, if it is different for you, take it off. You might find it improves accuracy like I did.
Gen 27:3 "Take your hunting gear, your quiver and bow, and go out into the field to hunt some game for me."

Offline Diamond Paul

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2008, 04:25:00 PM »