Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: need help with my form (videos)  (Read 821 times)

Offline nchunter

• Trad Bowhunter
need help with my form (videos)
« on: May 30, 2008, 11:09:00 AM »
I took up archery two years ago, and while I've improved some during that time I'm still a pretty mediocre shot.  My groups will typically be around 12 inches at 15 yards.  

Being a typical American, I first looked for the quick fix: the magic bow, the magic glove or tab, etc.  But now that I have decent equipment I'm forced to look at the archer.   :rolleyes:  

Here's a video from the side.  (Yeah, I know I look retarded, but that can't be helped.)

Here's a video from the top.  I put a tarp down for contrast.  Be patient, it takes me a while to climb down the ladder after I turn on the video.

I can't see anything wrong with my form, but then again I'm pretty new to this whole archery thing.
Appreciate any advice that you can give me.

Offline TradPaul

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: need help with my form (videos)
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2008, 11:23:00 AM »
I'm by no means an expert or think i know it all, but there are some questions that may help as they have helped me.
   Are you comfortable with your draw weight?
   Which sighting method do you use, if instinctive, are you concentrating on your "spot"?
  Have you tried to hold your anchor abit longer , like around 3 seconds?

And one thing that does stand out is that your drawing arm elbow seems abit high, i've heard much better archers than me say that your drawing arm elbow should come back in line with the target. My .02.
  Also since you live in charlotte as do i, you should really look up archery events in the area, there you can meet many people to help out with form and things like that. Good luck.

Paul.
"Dont let whats good, steal you away from whats best"

Offline UKarcher

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2008, 11:40:00 AM »