Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: three under vs. Split  (Read 1290 times)

Online buckeyebowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
three under vs. Split
« on: July 07, 2008, 03:09:00 PM »
What works best for you guys three under or split grip, Ive always used split with my longbow, but was thinkin about buyin a recurve and seen a lot of people use three under with a recurve is three under better for recurves or is it the same as split?

Offline Whip

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: three under vs. Split
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 03:14:00 PM »
I played around a bit with three under a couple of years ago.  I'm no expert by any means, but my thoughts were that it seemed to be more accurate at close known yardages, but I didn't seem to be as good at dropping them in from unknown yardages.  Might just be me, but it didn't seem like I was as good at judging distance instictively with three under.  

Also, it did sure seem to make the bow louder for whatever reason.  Maybe because my bows are tillered for split finger, or maybe I needed to play around more with the location of string silencers.  I didn't stick with it long enough to get comfortable with it.
PBS Regular Member
WTA Life Member
In the end, it is not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years. Abraham Lincoln.

Offline JEFF B

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2008, 03:19:00 PM »
split is good for recurve or longbow. just use what you shoot best with.  :thumbsup:
'' sometimes i wake up Grumpy;
other times i let her sleep"

TGMM FAMILY OF THE BOW

Offline AMB

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 03:19:00 PM »
I am a gap shooter and a whitetail treestand hunter.  Three under puts the arrow closer to my eye and my gap is not too much at 20 yds. and I am point on at 30yds.  It is really the only way things look right to me.  I don't have trouble with the bow being any louder though.

Offline Migra Bill

• Trad Bowhunter