Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Aiming  (Read 2689 times)

Offline Muskoxman

• Trad Bowhunter
Aiming
« on: June 16, 2008, 02:09:00 PM »
Hey everybody,
I'm new to bow hunting and this forum. I've been reading past posts and guys talk about aiming down the arrow. If I line up my point with the target I hit way to the left. I guess my question is there a way to aim. So far I just kind of eyeball it and I see my shooting getting better. When I'm shooting good probably 6 arrows in a six inch circle at 17 yards. When my shootings bad I realize now it's because of my release or form.
I'm getting pretty hooked on it, I've rifle hunted a lot and I've gotten to where I'll just tune up some hand loads, shoot some good groups and then my rifle sits there until I need to kill something. And then I picked up a friends tricked out bowteck and stuck a couple of arrows right in the bull at 20 yrds, and decided that things just a cable gun. But with this I can tell I'll need a bunch of practice to really be competent.
Just for information, I've got a 65 lb Wes Wallace stealth take down. My draw is 29 inches, I anchor my thumb knuckle in my back molar, and I'm shooting 30 inch gold tip traditional's 5575's. They seem to be hitting the target straight.
Anyhow I've learned a lot just reading the past posts and would sure appreciate any help.

John
BW PRS V 56in 56@28

---------------------------------
If it ain't one thing ,it's ten others

Offline BLACK WOLF

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Aiming
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2008, 02:30:00 PM »
John,

My suggestions would be to first make sure your form is CONSISTANT and can be executed instinctively to the point you are not analizing it and working on it as you are learning to aim.

2nd. make sure your equipment is tuned as good as you can with either the bareshaft tuning method, paper tuning or broadhead tuning to help eliminate the effects that your equipment can have on your inacccuracy.