Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: String Walking/Face Walking  (Read 1596 times)

Offline MO Bowman

• Trad Bowhunter
String Walking/Face Walking
« on: August 18, 2008, 11:16:00 PM »
Hello all. I am just getting into traditional gear after years of wheelie bows. I caught the fever for stick and string. I'm glad to have found this site and look forward to gaining knowledge from all of you. I know this is my first post, but could someone explain to me the process of Stringwalking/facewalking. I do not plan on shooting any competitions. Only hunting. This may have been explained in another post, but I'm unable to find it. I appreciate any input.
MO Bowman
Martin Black Mamba #45@28"
Martin X-200 #50@28"
Diamond Recon

Offline jhansen

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: String Walking/Face Walking
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2008, 05:17:00 PM »
Well, first off Welcome to the Gang and to trad archery!  As for your questions, I don't do either string or face walking but I think I can explain each.  Both are ways to change your elevation in a repeatable manner when shooting.  Both also require that you have a pretty good idea of the distance to the target.  In string walking you move your drawing fingers up or down the string to raise or lower your point of impact.  Your hand anchors in the same spot on your face each time.  In face walking you do just the opposite.  Your fingers grip the string in the same spot each time but you move your anchor point up or down your face to lower or raise your point of impact.  Take note that if you string walk and move your fingers down the string you will raise the point of impact.  But if you face walk and lower your anchor point you will raise the point of impact.

John
Life is an adventure.  Don't miss it.

Offline SHOOTO8S

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2008, 12:45:00 AM »
Originally posted by jhansen: