Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Feather Wear  (Read 856 times)

Offline CareyE

• Trad Bowhunter
Feather Wear
« on: January 15, 2009, 03:19:00 PM »
The bottom hen feathers are showing wear. I'm shooting a 27 inch cedar with 160gr point out of a Shrew Recurve which is 53#@28". My arrows are spined 50-54.

Thanks.
Managing the herd by killing the stupid ones.

Re: Feather Wear
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 04:51:00 PM »
I usually end up with an arrow that's weaker than recommended.  I don't know why, they just bare shaft that way.  You've got some contact issues of some kind, but if you're getting good flight, it may not be a problem.

I started shooting cock feather in a few years ago and get virtually 'no' wear at all.  You might give it a try.

Offline bsigal

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 08:46:00 AM »
Shooting cock feather in is one alternative.  Another would be to leave a gap between the bottom of your strike plate and your shelf rest for the bottom hen feather to pass thru.  That's how my bows are set up and I've never seen any wear on the bottom hens.

Offline CareyE

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 11:04:00 AM »
Thanks. My flight is good. I was just wondering if the wear of the hen feather was normal.

Offline SHOOTO8S

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2009, 12:03:00 PM »
Hmmm, Thats according to whether your shooting off the shelf or using an elevated rest...with a rest hen feather wear is not normal....off the shelf, I've never shot or seen a bow setup that didn't have some feather wear(other than a couple very narrow shelf's...if you shot them much at all.
2004 IBO World Champion

Offline SHOOTO8S

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2009, 01:26:00 PM »