Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Back From Rick Welch's Shooting School  (Read 2025 times)

Offline KellyBender

• Trad Bowhunter
Back From Rick Welch's Shooting School
« on: March 09, 2009, 02:26:00 PM »
I just got back from Ricks shooting school this Sat night. There are always lots of questions about it so I figured I would give some feedback.
In a nutshell, it is without a doubt the best thing I have ever done since I started shooting my recurve a couple of years ago. The improvement to my shooting is truly remarkable. To give you an idea, when I first got there Fri am, he had me shoot 20 targets after a short warm up to give us a benchmark. Scoring was a "10", "8", "5" and "0" for a miss. There were 20 targets at varying distances...maybe 12/15 yards to maybe 20/25(max) yards. My first round score was a 123. On the morning of the second day, I shot another 20 3-d targets and I scored a 183. If anything, the shots the second day were farther than the first day...15 yards out to 25/28.

I could spend a long time on all the things we went over and how they have changed my shooting..to say for the better would be an understatement. Before the class, 20 yards was about my max range to shoot comfortable....really about 18 yrds or so. On the afternoon of the second day, we were both shooting and after shooting about 25 targets or so, I started to pace off the ranges I was shooting in and was amazed that most were 25-30 and some 30+. Rick even made a comment "you probably didn't even realize how far you were shooting". And...I was hitting with a lot in the "10 ring" but if not there, definitely in the "kill zone" (an "8").

There have always been a lot of comments about his shooting so let me talk about some of the more common ones..