Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: I'm in! A little help please  (Read 1276 times)

Offline varden

• Trad Bowhunter
I'm in! A little help please
« on: March 15, 2009, 01:56:00 AM »
Hello boys! I've got a 62" Assenheimer that's 51lbs at my 28 inch draw in the mail and on the way. I've been bowhunting for 15 or 16 years now, and compounds got tiresome so here I am.

Lately, I've become highly conufused: should I shoot instictive or gap? Split finger or 3 under. Do I cant the bow, or keep it vertical.

Can you guys recommend some books that a fellow should read up on? I don't have much for resources around here. Thanks.

Offline ishoot4thrills

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: I'm in! A little help please
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2009, 07:08:00 AM »
I say shoot gap, 3-under, and slightly cant, and see if that works for you.

Read Byron Ferguson's book, "Become the Arrow".

Doug
58" JK Traditions Kanati Longbow
Ten Strand D10 String
Kanati Bow Quiver
35/55 Gold Tip Pink Nugents @ 30"
3 X 5" Feathers
19.9% FOC
49# @ 26.75"
165 FPS @ 10.4 GPP (510 gr. hunting arrow)
171 FPS @ 9.7 GPP (475 gr. 3D arrow)
3 Fingers Under

Offline griz#1

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2009, 08:15:00 AM »
try them all,then stick with the one that fits you the best.please yourself not everyone else.  good luck brother.
If you cut up your wife's french leather purse to make a tab, does that make you a redneck?

Offline varden

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2009, 12:26:00 PM »
I had a guy tell me that gap shooting is the quickest way to gain consistent accuracy. Would you agree?

Offline JoeM

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2009, 12:44:00 PM »
There are a ton of books and videos to help you out.  I would second the Byron Ferguson book.  3 fingers under they say will give you more immediate results. Not to discourage you, but, 51# is a lot of weight to start with. Good luck Joe