Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting both right and left handed  (Read 1212 times)

Offline damascusdave

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting both right and left handed
« on: May 31, 2009, 09:05:00 AM »
As a naturally left handed shooter in a very right handed world I taught myself to shoot a rifle right handed when I was in my teens.

When I started shooting a wheel bow back in the nineties the shop owner I worked for asked if I wanted to shoot a bow right or left handed as he was going to buy me a bow to use as a demo. Of course I went with right handed as it is a lot easier to sell a right handed demo bow.

Then when I decided to buy my own bow I went back to my more natural (master eye wise) left handed style. Then as my eyesight deteriorated I simply quit archery.

Now, for a number of reasons, I am back.

For now I have evolved this way:

I will shoot target style bows left handed.

I will shoot instinctive style right handed.

I started this thread to see if there are others out there like me.
I set out a while ago to reduce my herd of 40 bows...And I am finally down to 42

Offline damascusdave

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting both right and left handed
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2009, 09:11:00 AM »
Oh and to complicate, or maybe to simplify, things further I am going to shoot left handed split finger and right handed either 3 or 2 fingers under. For me that means tab left handed and glove right handed.
I set out a while ago to reduce my herd of 40 bows...And I am finally down to 42

Offline mtquivers

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2009, 09:55:00 AM »