Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Weight debate....opinions please.  (Read 1352 times)

Offline ishiwannabe

• Trad Bowhunter
Weight debate....opinions please.
« on: June 16, 2009, 10:27:00 PM »
Having acquired a new bow that is lighter than the one I traded off, I find myself having form issues that werent there when I was shooting the heavier bow.
My anchor point seems to fade away with the lighter bow, and I find myself getting a bit sloppy.
With the heavier bow, I could draw it to anchor, but I had to think about it. To me, it seemed like it "tightened" my form up, just by the sheer weight. I hit slightly better with it too...

Now, Im fairly new to trad, but Im almost thinking I shoot heavier better than I do lighter. Make sense? Nope.

I saw another thread that sort of related and figured I would throw this out there and see what happens.

To be clear, Im not bashing lighter weights, or heavier ones. Just wondering if anyone else has had similar experiences. I think we all hunt with what is right for us...just looking for some input.
"I lost arrows and didnt even shoot at a rabbit" Charlie after the Island of Trees.
                         -Jamie

Offline The Vanilla Gorilla

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Weight debate....opinions please.
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2009, 10:45:00 PM »
With heavier bows, I tend to snap shoot.  I can get the bow to anchor, but as soon as it touches my anchor point, its like my body says, "Thats it...get rid of it."  My accuracy never suffered with heavy bows, and I felt like I got a good release. Them heavier bows just got away from my fingers a lot easier with no hangup.

However, I prefer the lighter bows.  I can hold my 48# recurve at full draw until the animal dies of old age.  My accuracy is still unaffected, and I am in control of my release.  

I think a lot of it is just muscle memory that comes from shooting the same bow over and over.

Offline TheFatboy

• Trad Bowhunter