Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Using a sight...update!  (Read 733 times)

Offline nightowl1

• Trad Bowhunter
Using a sight...update!
« on: June 18, 2009, 10:05:00 AM »
I have been shooting now for a few years. Target panic struck me early and made me regress in my accuracy to a point I almost gave up. But now I have worked back up to being deadly at about 12 yards and good at 15 but when i get to 20+ yards I just have a hard time keeping them where I want them.

I don't miss my small Block anymore even out to 30 yards but there is no way I would consider myself accurate.

I can shoot a tick of the butt of a coon from 50 yards with iron sights and i thought this might be a good way to go to get my confidence back and just make me a deadly shot.

Here is the big question though... is there a sight idea out there that is pretty rugged but not bulky and obtrusive? I love the simple lines of my bow and don't want a huge gizmo hanging off it. I WILL NOT drill into my bow and it will be used for hunting.

I think I could do pretty will with a single pin set for 20 yards. Anything less than that and I'm good. Anything more and i can learn the arch.
Combo Hunter 46@28

I came from nothing and I brought it with me.

Offline Jason R. Wesbrock

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Using a sight...update!
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2009, 10:09:00 AM »
You can often find old tape-on sights on that large internet auction site for a few dollars.

Offline nightowl1

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2009, 10:28:00 AM »
btw i do cant my bow some... but that shouldn't be an issue with a single pin right?
Combo Hunter 46@28

Offline Jason R. Wesbrock

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2009, 01:36:00 PM »
No, it shouldn't be an issue as long as you keep your cant consistent from shot to shot.

Offline WestTnMan

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2009, 05:04:00 PM »