Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Formaster  (Read 1243 times)

Offline mudSwine

• Trad Bowhunter
Formaster
« on: July 12, 2009, 02:28:00 AM »
I'm very new to shooting a long bow. I've been reading a looking at a lot of good info. I bought Masters of the barebow 1,2and 3.
  I've found and old Bear Cub bow from when I was a kid growing up and thought it be best to start shooting with it to help build up my shoulders. I have torn both rotater cuffs when I was younger.
    Now how many of you have used the Formaster for training ?  Was it worth $ 40.00 bucks ?

Thanks

Offline katman

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Formaster
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 07:25:00 AM »
yes
shoot straight shoot often

Offline Lefty

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 10:23:00 AM »
Yes I used one to train.  Proper back tension and knowing that you are executing it correctly are definately worth the $40 bucks.  There are a few plans floating around the internet on how to build your own formaster though, if you are so inclined.  I picked up a used one for $25 and it was money well spent.  Between it and a dryfire bow I made, I have seen improvements in my form.
  Here is a link on it's use.  Make sure you get a rigid formaster.  That's the one to use on longbows and recurves.
 http://www.texasarchery.org/Photos/Formaster/Formaster.htm

Offline Shakes.602

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2009, 11:43:00 AM »
Very Interesting, I Just might have to Construct One of these Gems!! OR, where can I Purchase such a Critter?
"Carpe Cedar" Seize the Arrow!
"Life doesn't get Simpler; it gets Shorter and Turns in Smaller Circles." Dean Torges
"Faith is to Prayer what the Feather is to the Arrow" Thomas Morrow
"Ah Think They Should Outlaw Them Thar Crossbows" A Hunting Pal

Offline joebuck

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2009, 06:34:00 PM »