Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Are we really Instinctive....or good learners?  (Read 1295 times)

Offline GMMAT

• Trad Bowhunter
Are we really Instinctive....or good learners?
« on: July 23, 2009, 06:15:00 PM »
I'm still new to all this.....but another thread got me thinking...

Are we really shooting instictively?  Or, are we learning a particular sight picture (from a particular yardage) and ingraining that to memory?

I catch myself in 3D shoots judging yardage.  Why?  If I shot instinctively, why would it matter?  I shoot every day....even if it's 60 arrows.  I shoot from varying yardages, but I will shoot a quiver from each yardage, most days.  Some days I mix it up.  But I "think" I'm learning (ingraining) the sight picture for certain yardages.

Your thougts?

Offline razorsharptokill

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Are we really Instinctive....or good learners?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2009, 06:26:00 PM »
After I switched to trad only, it took me a couple years to stop counting my steps from the target back to where I was going to shoot from.

Now I don't even consider it. I just shoot.
Jim Richards
Veteran

USMC 84-88
Oklahoma Army National Guard 88-89
USMCR 89-96 Desert Storm
Oklahoma Air National Guard 2002- present. Operation Iraqi Freedom 2005(Qatar) and 2007(Iraq),
Operation New Dawn Iraq 2011,
Operation Enduring Freedom 2018 Afghanistan.
NRA Life Member.

Offline BRITTMAN

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2009, 06:32:00 PM »
I think we are good learners  :archer:
" Live long and prosper "

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2009, 06:38:00 PM »
If you will do a search, you will find your answer.

Instinctive shooting doesn't mean the literal meaning of the word(born with the ability to shoot the bow)...it refers to a shooting style that is 'instinctive' like.