Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Tuning problems  (Read 833 times)

Offline Jim Keller

• Trad Bowhunter
Tuning problems
« on: August 11, 2009, 04:26:00 PM »
Hi guys, I'm looking for some help tuning my longbow. I've been shooting trad for about 10 months. I started wit cedar arrows and now switched to alum. I'm shooting 51 @ 28, off the shelf , three under , 5 in. shield
  I checked the easton charts and saw I could go either 1916 or 2016. Decided on 2016 and thought I could load the front if to strong spine. Well I kept shortening my arrow and it kept showing weak. I'm to short now and still weak, by the way I'm shooting through paper at about 8 or 10 feet. I'm pretty frustrated. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Jim
Jim

Offline griz#1

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Tuning problems
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 06:07:00 PM »
one of my bow's likes 2216's, it's 50# @ 28, arrows cut 31" with 125 tip's  (I draw 30") hope this helps.
If you cut up your wife's french leather purse to make a tab, does that make you a redneck?

Offline Jim Keller

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 07:35:00 PM »
Thanks Griz, I have some 2117's I'm gonna try but according to the charts they're way to stiff, but so are2216's. Oh well, it's worth a try. Having shot compounds for 30 years , I was pretty good at tuning them. But these longbows are really driving me crazy. The bad part is I want to hunt with it this year, but I can only imagine what a broadhead will do on the end of it. I'll keep working on it , Any help from anybody else is appreciated.
Jim

Offline Al Dean

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 08:11:00 PM »
Need much more information.  Draw length, desired arrow length, string type, bow type (hybrid?), cut how close to center, ect.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Jim Keller

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 08:31:00 PM »