Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: What is your practice routine?  (Read 945 times)

Offline JeffB

• Trad Bowhunter
What is your practice routine?
« on: September 09, 2009, 11:36:00 AM »
Just curious how often, and how each of you practice?

Just getting back into this, I know to keep super close, work on form & release, and let the accuracy happen naturally.

But as regards to frequency- shooting compounds for a pile of years I've found that the LESS arrows I shoot per session the better (quality vs. quantity) and shooting a couple or three times per week max.

Wondering if any of you trad shooters approach it the same way? And if not, please post how you practice anyway if you care to.   :thumbsup:

Offline kenn1320

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What is your practice routine?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2009, 12:20:00 PM »
Im new to trad, but for what its worth..... I shoot every day for 15-30 min. On weekends, Ill shoot twice a day if I can. I only shoot 1 arrow, fetch it and shoot again. I shot compound for years, and noticed you concentrate the most on your last arrow. Trad is all about concentration, so shoot 1 arrow and make it your best shot you can. Start close and when your confident, back up a little. I do this for awhile, then throw the arrow from the target to various areas of the yard and shoot from where it lands. Im fairly decent out to about 20yds. However thats a guess as I no longer think about the distance. Its freedom for sure. I just look at the target, take a deep breathe/let it out slowly, raise the bow, draw and inhale, hold it, anchor, focus, release, breathe normal again and go get my arrow. Many of these tips I got from a Welch DVD. I messed around with different anchors and forms, but finaly have settled on one. Good luck to you!
Ken
I'm not a "deer" hunter, I'm a bow hunter that occasionally shoots a deer.

Offline PSUBowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 12:54:00 PM »