Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: wanna draw 50# like it is 30#???  (Read 1268 times)

Offline brumski

• Trad Bowhunter
wanna draw 50# like it is 30#???
« on: September 27, 2009, 03:58:00 PM »
ok guys,i'm new to archery (six months) i've gone from a 30# bow to 50# bow, realised my mistake!! bought a 40# bow,practised with the two heavier bows!! with limited success!!, dug out the much maligned 30#er, well it's sooo comfy!! i could hold full draw for a fortnight!! and so accurate!. so, not wanting to buy any more bows!!!! is there any way i can practise drawing heavier weights without buying another bow??. when i started, 30# was a big deal!!. i want 50# (not such a big weight )as easy as the 30#.

brumski

Offline TheFatboy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: wanna draw 50# like it is 30#???
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2009, 04:07:00 PM »
The only two ways to have 50# become less of a deal, is to either pull it a lot, or to practice with something heavier. That's pretty much it, I'm afraid!
The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, but wiser people so full of doubts.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2009, 04:17:00 PM »
The tendency when first learning to draw the bow is to use the arm muscles, which is fine at the beginning of the draw.  However, to hold the bow effortlessly at full draw, you need to transfer the weight to the back muscles as you draw the bow.  When you learn how to do this, you will have an "Aha!" moment, and it will be much easier to hold at full draw.