Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting glove and finger problem  (Read 604 times)

Offline Greg A

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting glove and finger problem
« on: December 16, 2009, 09:56:00 PM »
I've been shooting the same shooting glove for at least 5 years (I think its a "Wolverine" glove).  I've been shooting a lot more than usual this year and my ring finger really starts to hurt after a shooting session, especially the bottom of the finger.  Sometimes in less than 20 arrows.  The tip of my finger swells and sometimes even bruises and turns purple.  I shoot split finger and as far as I can tell my ring finger has the deepest "hook" of any finger, although overall I believe I shoot with a very shallow hook.  I only catch about half of the tip of each finger.  Is this normal?  Could it be a glove problem.  Can anyone recommend a good glove?  The gloves in common sporting goods stores are terrible.  Is this a form problem?  

Any input appreciated.  Thanks much.

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting glove and finger problem
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2009, 10:06:00 PM »
Greg,
Check out the gloves from Black Widow and 3 Rivers.

Sounds like you have a stiff (ie. not relaxed) string hand.  With way too much of the string weight on the ring finger.  I'd recommend 30% on the index finger, 50% on the middle finger and 20% on the ring finger.  also, the index and middle fingers shoud have a deeper hook than the ring finger.

What you describe sounds like a form problem with your drawing arm and elbow to high, but hard to say without seeing.
11 H Hill bows
3 David Miller bows
4 James Berry bows
USA Archery, Level 4 NTS Coach

Are you willing to give up what you are; to become what you could be?

Offline Ssamac

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2009, 10:50:00 PM »
Try a tab for a while as you sort this out. Your glove might be just fine once you get it done