Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Why do I get the terrible one bad flyer?  (Read 1765 times)

Offline Lund Tyee 1

• Trad Bowhunter
Why do I get the terrible one bad flyer?
« on: December 28, 2009, 01:00:00 AM »
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie and I've hesitated asking this question in fear of...sounding like a newbie. but in hope that maybe someone says something that may help I'm going to give it a whirl. The bow is a Hummingbird Kingfisher.  I've been shooting app. 15-30 arrows 2-4 times a week from 10-15 yards. Concentrating on form and just plain learning to shoot traditional. My question is, what is the most common reason I'm usually getting one arrow out of 6 that's maybe 10" off target? Is it lack of concentration/mental? or getting lazy on form?

Offline Allegan Archer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Why do I get the terrible one bad flyer?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2009, 02:00:00 AM »
I am not an expert by any means... but is it the same arrow each time?
Whatever you think you can do or believe you can do, begin it. Action has magic, grace and power in it.-- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Excellence is not a single act, but a habit. ---Aristotle

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2009, 09:27:00 AM »
If it isn't the one arrow check to make sure your shoulders are lined up with the target.  They have a tendency to drift open and causes inconsistent anchoring, string plucking, etc.
Traditional Bowhunters of Maryland
Heart of Maryland Bowhunters
NRA
Mayberry Archers

Offline Bruce Martin

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2009, 12:28:00 PM »