Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Newbie question  (Read 447 times)

Offline beemerhead

• Trad Bowhunter
Newbie question
« on: January 03, 2010, 09:42:00 PM »
I'm new to the forum and haven't made my first trad bow purchase as of yet.  Still shoppin'. I would like to know the advantages of shooting 3 under as opposed to split style.  I figure if I start out with the correct method for my shooting purposes I won't have to readjust later on.  By the way, I plan on using my first bow for whitetail hunting if that lends any credence to your responses.  Thanks,

Ken in Tn
Acts 16:31

Offline crotch horn

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Newbie question
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2010, 02:34:00 AM »
Hi & welcome to the Trad life. I am a newbie compared to most of these guys. Shot my first recurve in Jan. 2007 and killed a black bear @ 18 yards that Sept. Of 07. Most exciting kill ever because of the recurve. Three under from what I understand makes you a little stronger ( more leverage) and puts the shaft more online with your eye. If I were to start over I would choose 3 under. Either way just choose a bow made for the way you decide. If you can shoot bows made for each & see if you do better one way or the other. Good luck.

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2010, 10:04:00 AM »
You'll hear arguments from both sides on this one as it's a hot topic but it all boils down to the arrow is a finger width closer to your eye which seems to help some shoot better at hunting ranges.  One of my friends shoots quite well this way.  The best shot I know shoots split finger with a fairly high anchor and has been doing this for the 40 years I've known him.