Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: What am I doing wrong?  (Read 1151 times)

Offline bartcanoe

• Trad Bowhunter
What am I doing wrong?
« on: January 21, 2010, 08:39:00 PM »
After years of not being able to shoot, I've been shooting at least three times a week for a few months.  I've seen steady improvement and was actually feeling good out to 20 yds.  

Well, the last two nights have been horrendous, and tonight was as bad as when I first restarted.  I went back to 10 yds, and shot 8 good arrows and left.  Did I do the right thing?  Is there anything else I can do?  Has anyone else experienced this?
Dave

US Army Retired (1984-2013)
Job 42:1-6

Offline Kenneth

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What am I doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 08:47:00 PM »
I know if I'm stressed or have anything on my mind, then my shooting suffers quite a bit because I'm not focused.  Also If I work out to much or shoot to much my shooting and form will suffer for a day or two.  If either of these things is affecting my shooting then I usually will just come to full draw and hold it as long as I can and then let down slow.  I will do that a few times and not shoot an arrow.  Then I'll start out by doing that a couple times the next day and then I'll try shooting some groups.  This works for me but it may or may not work for you.

Hope you get it figured out and are busting nocks soon.

Ken
Chasing my kids and my degree for now but come next fall the critters better look out.  ;)

Offline Dusty Nethery

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 08:50:00 PM »
I don't have the knowledge nor experience to say if you are doing anything wrong.

I will say that I can practice too much. I've noticed in the past that as I shoot everyday for 8-10 days I start to over-analyze my form and my groups fall apart. Just my thoughts.

Dusty

Offline RUSTY1

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 08:52:00 PM »