Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Striking shelf  (Read 1272 times)

Offline briandean

• Trad Bowhunter
Striking shelf
« on: January 25, 2010, 11:44:00 AM »
Perhaps someone can help me here, please. I'll give a bit of history to help.  I started shooting about 2 years ago - borrowed, then bought a Martin longbow (45 @ 28).

The previous owner bought it off a catalogue (we're in South Africa) and when it landed here, found he couldn't shoot with it - just couldn't hit anything.  It worked for me, but I have ALWAYS had the problem of the arrows hitting the shelf.

I have adjusted the nocking point endlessly, replaced the shelf material and so on and so on.  The long & the short of it is this: I can hit a 9 inch plate quite consistantly at about 25-30 yards.  I have hunted many pigeons (and others - but pigeons are small) and recently won a trad 3D competition after working my way up through the ranks over 2 years.  The point is that I shoot accurately despite the shelf strikes.
In fact, the shelf wood is now wearing away and all my arrows have marks on them.

Is this normal? Should I be worried? Is there a solution or should I just carry on?  My arrows last - with a stripe.  The fletches aren't coming off and my hand is not being hit.
Thanks.
“He trains my hands for battle; my arms can bend a bow of bronze.” Psalm 18:34

Offline Cable Guy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Striking shelf
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 12:02:00 PM »
Wow.
1st thing I think of is stiffness....but thats not the issue with a 3555.
Lets ask this...
Whats the recommended brace height for that bow?
I would raise the brace height within the recs,
and also observe my release......paradox.
...Exhale

Offline Cable Guy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 12:24:00 PM »
......almost forgot to ask about your arrow weight as well.
...Exhale

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 12:27:00 PM »