Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Practice tips needed & appreciated  (Read 533 times)

Offline JoeM

• Trad Bowhunter
Practice tips needed & appreciated
« on: January 27, 2010, 09:08:00 PM »
Hey guys looking for a few ideas and some input on practice.  I have been shooting a recurve now for about 3 years and believe I have developed a pretty solid foundation.  That being said I constantly find my shooting style evolving and being tweeked as i learn. When I have flyers it is almost always to the left (I'm a righty) due to letting my bow arm fly out.  I have found myself lately shooting more like Larry Yien from MOTBB.  I concentrate more on my form than I do aiming I simply trust my eyes but make a concious effort to control my form. I started to experiment with this method when I was having a  problem not trusting my form and always checking on it through out my shot sequence.  Like Rod says in MOTBB you can't have two drivers trying to control things so I decided to conciously drive the sequence and not the aiming.
This brings me to my question is there any  specific drills to help develop a more solid bow arm?  I do a lot of bag work but mainly work on alignment and back tension. I feel my bow arm is the weak part of my shot.
Also, my shot sequence is very deliberate and i would say a little slow (I take my time to settle my anchors and create BT).  Any quick tips on speeding the process up for quick shots. If vids help I'll get them up tomorrow. Thanks Joe
"...there are no words that can tell the hidden spirit of the wilderness, that can reveal its mystery, its melancholy, and its charm."  Teddy Roosevelt

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Practice tips needed & appreciated
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 09:42:00 PM »
Do you shoot with a bent bow arm?
TGMM Family of the Bow

Technology....the knack of arranging the world so that we don't have to experience it.

Offline sdpeb1