Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: having a major problem and need help!  (Read 1075 times)

Offline fountain

• Trad Bowhunter
having a major problem and need help!
« on: February 07, 2010, 08:22:00 PM »
i just started shooting 2 under.  by tshooting this way i can anchor very solid under my cheek bone with my thumb still with my middle finger in the corner of the mouth.  using back tension to pull through the clicker seems better as well and i feel like i shoot better this way.
here is the problem--the string nock is cutting my face bad.  i can shoot a few shots and i hve to quit cause i am pouring blood.  i thought the spot would toughen up eventually, but it is not.
i tried putting some felt padding over the nock to see if that would help and it did not.
i am now thinking about serving above and  below the nocking point and removing the brass nock all together to see if tahat will work.  then, i am still worried about the serving cutting my face.  what to do?

i know that 2 under is prety uncommon and i am sure that very few people shoot like that, but i like it so far, except for the cut place under my eye!  it does not really look good, if ya know what i mean.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: having a major problem and need help!
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 08:38:00 PM »
I don't use metal nocks anymore, and make my nocks out of serving.  I think it makes a better nock anyway, and may help with your problem.