Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting form  (Read 421 times)

Offline flyboy61

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting form
« on: April 26, 2010, 01:19:00 PM »
Hey, guys, total newbie here. At least, I haven't even handled a bow for  at least 35 years, but find myself fascinated again by archery.

I had a lemonwood stickbow that a friend gave to me in the '50s, but never could figure out the aiming diagram in my Boy Scout Handbook.

A couple of questions:  First, back then, having no other source of learning, I tried to copy the drawing in the Handbook; you know, back straight, bow vertical...I notice in the photos and videos...today NOBOBODY does that. It appears to be a more relaxed style now, and the bow is almost universally tilted. HOWCOME?

Next; I read the Newbie article, and it farbled my whole afternoon, I'll tell you! I am right-handed, and  I have always shot firearms as if I were right-eye dominant, but I found out I'm  actually left-eye dominant.  Hoo boy!   I probably won't change my firearms style, it likely will do no good, old dogs, you know...  but for archery?

I hold the bow in my left hand, and draw with my right. Does that mean I am a right or left-handed shooter? Will I have to change anything to begin archery again?

And finally...I am thinking I should start with a lighter bow, maybe aout 35# till I get used to the whole thing again.

Eventually...dare I say it...I think I'd like to make a bow. Am I nutz?
Thanks
Old enough to know better, but too young to resist.

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting form
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2010, 02:41:00 PM »
Flyboy,  Welcome back.

Many shoot trad gear with a vertical bow.  Vertical to about 45 degrees is common -- find what feels best and works for you.