Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: does this look normal? (pics)  (Read 1083 times)

Offline Gunnar Mullins

• Trad Bowhunter
does this look normal? (pics)
« on: May 03, 2010, 06:07:00 AM »
Ive never had any kind of male figure in my life, so archery was something i picked up by myself at a pretty young age. I started off making my own bows out of sapling i had cut down and from there have worked my way to where I am today, with my 3 professional bows.
Im totally self taught.
I started with split finger, but the past few months I have been 3 under. How does my form look? I shoot with the arrow over my eye and I judge the shot by the angle the arrow makes with my hand, and Im pretty good with that. I dont really use the tip of the arrow in my sighting. Here are two pics of my form:
Thanks guys!!

I'd rather hold a recurve than shoot a compound

Offline todd smith

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: does this look normal? (pics)
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 06:16:00 AM »
It's very unconventional.  How does it work for you?  todd
todd smith

Live wild live free

www.ToddSmithCo.com

Offline Looper

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2010, 06:18:00 AM »
Well, it's a touch unconventional.  Most folks have the arrow under the eye and the bow arm a lot lower. I'd imagine with the way you're doing it, you're having to compensate for two things when you're aiming, windage and elevation.  With a more traditional form (your eye above the arrow), you'd only have to adjust for elevation.

Offline Izzy

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2010, 06:22:00 AM »
Im not a 3 under shooter but what Ive seen most guys that are do is anchor their index finger in the corner of their mouth.

Offline tradtusker

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2010, 06:32:00 AM »
its a bit different from the norm Gun.