Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: How long do you hold full draw before releasing?  (Read 3086 times)

Offline virginiashadow

• Trad Bowhunter
How long do you hold full draw before releasing?
« on: May 03, 2010, 07:37:00 PM »
Hello all.  I just started shooting a recurve a couple of months ago after many years shooting a compound.  I am going back and forth trying to figure out how long I should hold full draw before I release.  When I first started I kind of "snapped" my shot off as soon as I got my anchors.  Then I went to trying to hold full draw for a 2 count. Now I am shooting about 1-1.5 seconds after I get my anchors.

I feel comfortable shooting at 1-1.5 seconds but am wondering how that will translate into bowhunting deer.  I am not sure that is long enough for the deer woods.

So how long do you hold full draw?  And of yeah, any hints/tips/advice is much appreciated as I am just learning the recurve game.

Brett

Offline ishoot4thrills

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How long do you hold full draw before releasing?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2010, 07:46:00 PM »
Probably about 3 seconds.
58" JK Traditions Kanati Longbow
Ten Strand D10 String
Kanati Bow Quiver
35/55 Gold Tip Pink Nugents @ 30"
3 X 5" Feathers
19.9% FOC
49# @ 26.75"
165 FPS @ 10.4 GPP (510 gr. hunting arrow)
171 FPS @ 9.7 GPP (475 gr. 3D arrow)
3 Fingers Under

Offline bigjono

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2010, 08:34:00 PM »
3 seconds for me too.
The older I get the better I was!

Offline bm22

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2010, 09:05:00 PM »
As long as i need to. At 3d i hold about 2-3 but at deer or moving animals i sometimes draw while they are behind bushes the shoot when they come out or sometimes snap shoot. I think a good bowhunter should be able to adapt to the situation wether they make a faster shot or they hold for 30 seconds waiting for an animal to turn.

Offline virginiashadow

• Trad Bowhunter