Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Learing to Gap shoot  (Read 939 times)

Offline K. Mogensen

• Trad Bowhunter
Learing to Gap shoot
« on: May 09, 2010, 04:57:00 PM »
Hey guys, wondering if you could give me some advice.

First: I've been shooting for around a year and a half. For the first bit, I was pretty much self taught with some books and picked up instinctive shooting. I tried to get it, tried 4 different anchors over time, went to 3 under (which helped a lot) and picked up a book called Shooting the Stickbow by Anthony Camera. Great book. Anyway, I learned form basics, and feel pretty confident with my form now. My bow arm shoulder is slightly hunched but I feel my form is to where I can consistenly repeat it with the occasionally "what the hell was that?" shot. However, past 15 yards, my shots just go nuts.

Now I've been doing some reading on gap shooting. It sounds fairly simple. Figure out your point on. And then figure out your gaps. Is it really like that? I mean, could you guys give me some tips or pointers on learning this. I don't want to start screwing with my arrows as they fly pretty good right now. But how hard is it to learn this?

Thanks. I appreciate your time.

Offline kodiakkid

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Learing to Gap shoot
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2010, 06:20:00 PM »