Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Shooting from kneeling position  (Read 955 times)

Offline Gene R

• Trad Bowhunter
Shooting from kneeling position
« on: May 23, 2010, 01:23:00 PM »
I as out shooting this morning and when I shot at yardage over 25, I found that if I was kneeling my groups were alot tighter. I am wondering if this is typical for other trad shooters as well. And if not what may be causing my groups to spread out more while standing, especially at greater yardage, over kneeling. Just awonderin?

Offline Cherry Tree

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Shooting from kneeling position
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2010, 10:14:00 PM »
What style do you shoot? instinctive,gap,ect....

Offline Gene R

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2010, 11:17:00 PM »
I am new to tradtional archery and I always felt I was shooting instinctive, but I may be doing a combination of gap and instinctive, because I do see the arrow in my periperal vision. I can't say I use this as a concious reference but it may be playing a part subconciously. Whatever, method the difference in accuracy is noticeable. I am wondering if I am not using a proper stance and I may be having too much movement in my shot sequence.

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 11:38:00 PM »
If you kneel, you pretty much take your legs and a bunch of muscle groups out of the picture,  i.e. your shooting platform becomes more stable.  That usually leads to more accurate shots.

Offline fedora

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2010, 04:19:00 PM »
I shoot better kneeling also.  I think it is because you are closer to the ground and therefore more stable.  That is if you are on both knees.  If I shoot with one leg up I am about as accurate as if standing.

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2010, 04:26:00 PM »
Originally posted by fedora: