Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Help on eye dominance  (Read 501 times)

Offline KyStickbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Help on eye dominance
« on: May 29, 2010, 07:55:00 PM »
Hi guys, I am very new to traditional archery and havent even bought my own bow yet. I shot my friends the other day and loved it. Before I buy a bow I had a few concerns. I am right handed, but I am left eye dominant. I shoot my compound with my left eye closed so it is not a problem. When shooting traditional I see everyone shoot with both eyes open. Is shooting a right handed stickbow, with a dominant left eye going to cause me accuracy problems. Or should I start with a left handed bow, which would feel very weird?
Aim small...Miss small!!

Offline jackthepointer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Help on eye dominance
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2010, 08:55:00 PM »
I switched to lefty due to an eye disease,I can shoot either way I just can,t see out my right eye at the best time for hunting.The switch was easy,but I don't think the eye dominace should be a problem.I'm only speculating,since afterall I made the switch.I did shoot right hande all my life,and did notice that my left eye was dominant as time went on.I did well despite it,I was dianosed with AMD in my right eye which explained why the left eye was dominant.No advice just passing om what I did.

Offline Earthdog

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2010, 12:06:00 AM »
The switch is nothing,,in fact if it's that hard then this sport ain't for you anyway.
You can shoot cross dominant,but if you get put under a real pressure situation your dominant eye can take over and cause some real problems.

If your just getting into this thing and havn't out laid for the wrong gear,,,,nows your chance to continue that tradition.
Winning or losing is not the important thing,,the important thing is how well you played the game.

Offline tkytrac

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2010, 07:41:00 PM »