Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Back to the Basics!  (Read 452 times)

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Back to the Basics!
« on: July 01, 2010, 04:03:00 PM »
Well I thought I would share this for all who are new and whoever may want it.
I have been working like a dog for a few months and I have not been able to shoot as I used to(every day at least 3 dozen arrows).So I find myself thinking it's time to go back to the basics and re work any bad form habits I may have grown into.I will start out with the lesser weight bow 50# for me and shoot bales,and work on the form! Then move to the aiming aspect and then up the bow weight.I think this will help re-form my shooting and increase my ability as a trad shooter.I know from experience that if I dont after such a layoff from my constant shooting,I will make bad adjustments to compensate for the "BEING OFF"    :mad:   on my shots.

So has any of you done this?   :archer2:
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a
difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
—President Ronald Reagan

Offline NBK

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Back to the Basics!
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 04:46:00 PM »
Yep.  Been shooting a longbow now for going on 7 years and I feel like I'm still developing/finding my own style.  I had switched from split to 3 under last year, then was playing in the woods stump shooting and "just having fun" shooting from all sorts of weird angles and realized that, for me, split finger gave me more control and options for hunting shots.  So I went to the bag for about 2 weeks drilling in the form and I'm having as much fun as ever.  If I find myself slipping up on a few shots I go right back to the bag hanging in the back yard and I start each shooting session with a few warm ups on the bag.
Mike

"I belong anywhere but in between"

Offline Northwest_Bowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 04:49:00 PM »