Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Accuracy? how good is good enough to hunt  (Read 1693 times)

Offline stretch2

• Trad Bowhunter
Accuracy? how good is good enough to hunt
« on: November 13, 2010, 12:14:00 PM »
I was just wondering what everyone's ideas are about this. I have been shooting for about 6 years and am frustrated. shooting at a paper plate in my back yard how far should I be from the plate and how many arrows should I be able to put in the plate before I could consider being good enough to harvest an animal. I hope that make sense.

Offline Don Stokes

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Accuracy? how good is good enough to hunt
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 02:07:00 PM »
Keeping your arrows in a paper plate has been a rule of thumb for many years. I just don't take a shot unless I'm pretty darned sure I can kill the animal. There are so many variables in hunting that your hunting distance may not be the same as your paper plate distance. Closer is always better for me.
Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.- Ben Franklin

Offline cbCrow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2010, 02:28:00 PM »
"Bowhunting is seeing how close you can get and never miss your mark".
The above statement needs to be determined by you. I practice by shooting at a 4" square piece of corrugated box and practice from 5-20yds. As far as I'm concerned the closer the better!  :archer:

Offline Ravenhood

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2010, 04:20:00 PM »
I like 15 yards or less ,I feel very good at that distance. As for a 6 inch paper plate I will hit it 9 out of 10 times at 13 yards.

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2010, 07:25:00 PM »