Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Right handed Left Eye  (Read 834 times)

Offline floodman

• Trad Bowhunter
Right handed Left Eye
« on: December 19, 2010, 02:43:00 PM »
How many of you are Right Handed Shooter and are Left Eye Dominant,How do you shot,Split finger Instictive,or 3 under instictive/indirect aiming

Offline Blake Fischer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Right handed Left Eye
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 02:53:00 PM »
Flood,

I am right handed and left eye dominant.  I shoot left handed, it is a little harder to get used to, but I shoot twice as good now than when I shot right handed.  I started shooting a longbow right handed at age 5, and switched when I was about 28, so I had 23 years of training to overcome.  The beauty of switching is that I got away from several bad habits.

Good Luck, it can be done, and is by far the most effective way to do it.  Also, you'll have a bunch of right handed bows to sell.

Blake

Offline capt eddie

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 04:26:00 PM »
I am right handed but blind in my right eye. 20/4000 vision.  I shot right handed and have had no problem at all shooting instictive.  Split fingers.I can not and do not look down my arrow or use it as a referance.  I think of throwing a ball.  you do not need both eyes to throww a ball. Elevation comes from practice. Plying around I have tryed to use my left eye to aim the arrow. It was not a good time trying to find arrows all over the yard.  Start closes, 5 yards.  Aim draw point shoot.
capt eddie

Offline MicArcher

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2010, 05:02:00 PM »
i'm the same as you, right handed left eye, i now shoot left handed, was actually a pretty easy transition. i am a much better shooter after making the switch.

Offline floodman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2010, 06:07:00 PM »