Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Instintive shooting ?'s help please  (Read 1906 times)

Offline LinemanARK

• Trad Bowhunter
Instintive shooting ?'s help please
« on: January 10, 2011, 07:32:00 PM »
How do you learn to shoot at longer distance's. I have a 55# recurve with 525gn 3555 GT arrows. I don't want to gap shoot I am new to trad so any help would be great.I can shoot 30yds now, but when I back up to 40 my arrow hitts the ground before it gets there. I shoot 3 under and anchor with my pointer finger, if you need more info please let me know.  thanks Mike

Offline BowsanAiros

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Instintive shooting ?'s help please
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2011, 08:06:00 PM »
Shooting instinctive at longer distances is the same as short distances "focus on the smallest target you can see"
I shoot pop bottle caps past 40yds, maybe you could try that....

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2011, 08:12:00 PM »
Originally posted by rezeen6.5:
 I am new to trad  
That is the issue.....you have to shoot more at longer distances to get better....you are shooting 'short' because you haven't programed your brain for 40 yards and beyond since you are new.

It wont happen over night....and takes commitment and dedication to learn to shoot instinctive at longer distances.
Tradbowhunting Video Store - https://digitalstore.tradgang.com/

Tradgang Bowhunting Merchandise - https://tradgang.creator-spring.com/?

Tradgang DVD - https://www.tradgang.com/tgstore/index.html

"It's important,  when going after a goal, to never lose sight of the integrity of the journey" - Andy Garcia

'An anchor point is not a destination, its  an evolution to conclusion'

Offline Wapiti Bowman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2011, 03:50:00 PM »