Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: What's your definition of a proper release?  (Read 895 times)

Offline Blood Trail 2

• Trad Bowhunter
What's your definition of a proper release?
« on: February 11, 2011, 06:19:00 PM »
How do you guys release arrows? I'm a noob and i've been playing around with a few different "techiques" I guess you can call it!

I've tried gripping the string at the first bend of my 3 fingers (i shoot 3 under) and I've tried just using my fingertips. The issue I'm having is that everytime I release, my 3 fingers tend to kinda thumb my cheek. Is this normal??

Offline Lechwe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What's your definition of a proper release?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 07:00:00 PM »
Not sure what you mean by thumbing your cheek. I've only been doing this for about 4 years and it is still a learning experience for me. I use a deep hook and your hand should come back toward your shoulder after release.

The best money you could spend would be to order one or both Masters of the barebow 3 or The Accuracy factory. Both are great DVD's and will give you some great help.

Good luck.

Offline ChrisM

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 07:28:00 PM »
Well the release should be a push with your bow arm, and pull with your back muscle and a relaxation of the fingers.
Gods greatest command:  Love your neighbor as you love yourself.

Offline fujimo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 08:25:00 PM »
i prefer a dead release.
get to anchor- at least two anchor points,good back tension!! pause, steady everything up, and then sub consciously relax my fingers,  my draw hand and my bow hand stay exactly where they were at anchor, as my follow through, until arrow impact.
everything as quite and still as i can- also helps not to flag the animals too!!
if i use the push pull, i find there is too much movement, and my accuracy suffers.

but hey, its whatever works best for YOU!!!!