Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Understanding finger pressure  (Read 606 times)

Offline twitchstick

• Trad Bowhunter
Understanding finger pressure
« on: March 09, 2011, 09:58:00 AM »
It's that time of year again where I have been working on my form and equipment bugs. I have notice that I have a bigger calis on my ring finger(right handed) than my index or bird finger. I have always had this no matter if I shoot over & under or 3 under. Right now I am shooting over & under. I use to have a high elbow problem(self taught bad habit) that would cause this maybe but I feel I have improved on that. Any suggestion from some you that are form masters or is it normal?

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Understanding finger pressure
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2011, 10:29:00 AM »
Twitchstick,  A high elbow will contribute but also look to your string arm and wrist.  If they are as relaxed as possible, your fingers will have a more even distribution of pressure.  You might check out the video I posted recently on the "release tips" thread.
11 H Hill bows
3 David Miller bows
4 James Berry bows
USA Archery, Level 4 NTS Coach

Are you willing to give up what you are; to become what you could be?

Offline tyu888

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2011, 12:22:00 PM »
I am right handed and I have the same thing on my ring fingure even with cordovan tab..Need to work on my releases...Thanks...
Black Widow PLX-Osage 66" #41
21St Century by Jim & Buddy 66" #43
Diamond Black Ice Compound 60#
Damon Howatt Freedom 60" #40

Offline twitchstick

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2011, 12:49:00 PM »