Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: 50 yards ok 15 feet not so good can someone explain or help  (Read 1314 times)

Offline rluttrell

• Trad Bowhunter
50 yards ok 15 feet not so good can someone explain or help
« on: August 15, 2011, 05:22:00 PM »
First let me start of by saying I am pretty new to Traditional archery. When I take a shot at 50 yards I can see down the arrow to the target, but when I have to shot less than 25 yards or 15 feet I have no idea on where to put the arrow. It is the most frustrating thing for me right now. All help is appreciated thanks Robert
Hopefully you will see me as a better person today than I was yesterday..

Offline moebow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: 50 yards ok 15 feet not so good can someone explain or help
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 05:29:00 PM »
If you are looking down the arrow at 50, you will have to hold the point of the arrow below the point to be hit at closer ranges.  Only you can discover how far but you might try pointing the arrow about 2 feet below the bull at twenty yards and experiment from there.  This all depends on how you shoot, and what you are really using for a sight picture.  Do a search for both "gap shooting" and instinctive and see if that helps.
11 H Hill bows
3 David Miller bows
4 James Berry bows
USA Archery, Level 4 NTS Coach

Are you willing to give up what you are; to become what you could be?

Offline McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 05:31:00 PM »