Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Multiple shooting styles  (Read 604 times)

Offline dkforge

• Trad Bowhunter
Multiple shooting styles
« on: August 17, 2011, 08:22:00 PM »
Hi guys I just started shooting a recurve (actually any bow) a few months ago. Being self taught and learning from on here I always looked down the arrow at my target to aim my shots. At Denton I attended G. Fred Asbell's instinctive shooting talk and have now been playing with that style of shooting. My question is does anyone practice multiple styles of shooting? I shoot well looking down the arrow and with a couple of weeks of practicing instinctive I am not making out too bad with that style. Is there a reason to not get used to shooting multiple ways? I am sure there are some who are just diehard one way or another and I am not knocking any one style.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Offline zetabow

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Multiple shooting styles
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2011, 12:19:00 AM »
I'm a tourney marked Field and unmarked 3D shooter and I use all aiming methods, I find being adaptable helps with those difficult shots.

I tend to shoot POA and Gap for Field and Instinct, split-vision for unmarked 3D

Offline Larry247

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 08:25:00 AM »
Once you find the most comfortable anchor point that allows you to focus on the target more than your arrow, you can start to turn more of your intense concentration on the spot you want to hit.

Most gap shooters find it hard to let thier instincts take over and just intently focus on the spot they want to hit. Most feel like they may loose control if they can't see thier arrow and place it in a certain spot on or around the target.

Stay in close and burn a hole in the spot you want to hit, and move back slowly over time to get the feel of it.
A trophy is in the eye of the beholder.

Offline dragonheart

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter