Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: How do you improve bow arm stabilty  (Read 765 times)

Offline Rick Richard

• Trad Bowhunter
How do you improve bow arm stabilty
« on: February 06, 2012, 01:30:00 PM »
I am struggling with bow arm stability in that I have a difficult time in holding the bow steady.  This occurs no matter what weight I am pulling (42 or 52).  Any methods or exercises that I can employ to minimize this issue?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Offline jonathan creason

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How do you improve bow arm stabilty
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 01:49:00 PM »
Hey Rick, I'm still very new to this and not at all qualified to give a response to any question but I'll try anyway.  I've been dealing with the same issue lately after a bit of downtime as far as shooting goes.  Something that seems to have helped lately is spending some time on the blank bale and really concentrate on pushing my bow hand toward the target.  It really seemed to click with me the other day, and now I can tell that my bow arm isn't jumping around near as bad.

Offline BobCo 1965

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 02:11:00 PM »
Do you shake while doing isometric exercises? Try putting both arms on your chair and lift yourself off the chair.  Or put both arms behind you with your hands flat against a wall and lean back. Hold and see if you start getting a quiver.

I am bringing this up because you mentioned that it does not matter what the poundage is. It may not be a problem with actual muscle but a neuro problem. It also could be an electrolyte problem (blood test could show this).

Offline Rick Richard

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 02:47:00 PM »
Well, tried the chair thing as suggested and was shaking.  So, if it is neuro related then what can I do to resolve the issue or can I?

Offline Terry Green

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter