Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: ? about three under  (Read 1228 times)

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
? about three under
« on: February 17, 2012, 04:34:00 PM »
So I have shot split finger from the start and just watched Kenny M's shop video and saw him shooting three under. So my ? is what advantage does it have? and does sighting down the arrow make it easier or harder to shoot at long distances?

And when I shoot split I have full vision of my target and spot, does the eye sighting the arrow limit the view of the animal and area around it?

Just curious,Thanks Tim
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a
difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
—President Ronald Reagan

Online kennym

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: ? about three under
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 05:22:00 PM »
I just started playing with 3under( cause RC does it) I'm more accurate so far, and it doesn't interfere with vision out to 20 anyway for me. I don't shoot farther than that for whitetails anyway...
Stay sharp, Kenny.

https://www.kennysarchery.com/

Offline Rob W.

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 05:32:00 PM »
I switched to 3 under a couple years ago. My groups improved a bunch after just a couple weeks.

As far as sight picture goes I dont notice much difference. I try not to focus on any thing but the target but the arrow closer to the eye is a big plus in my book. Seems to eliminate most left/right misses.

For long distances I guess it would depend on your aiming style. I focus on the same spot at 10 yards as I do at 50 and let my hat rack do the rest. For different styles it might take some getting used to.

Rob
This stuff ain't no rocket surgery science!

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 05:35:00 PM »
Have you guys gone back and forth between the two styles?
—President Ronald Reagan

Offline bigbadjon