Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Another cant question  (Read 1220 times)

Offline Bullie

• Trad Bowhunter
Another cant question
« on: March 21, 2012, 11:15:00 AM »
I am just getting into trad bows after many years away. I coach my school's archery team (compounds Mathews Genesis) and I shoot those vertically. I teach the kids to pick something to use as an aiming reference, though I cannot shoot that way myself.

I shoot with both eyes open only looking at the target. Should I continue to do what I am doing or should I attempt to work some cant into my form while the recurve is still new to me?
QSMA Founder and President

Current World Record Holder Grey Squirrel 1.96 B&S points.  Taken in the Mississippi hills.

Offline cjgregory

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Another cant question
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2012, 11:59:00 AM »
Archery does not change when one switches bows.  It remains the same.  Fundamentals are fundamentals.  The only difference here is that fundamentals become more critical when one does not have a peep sight to mechanically line up or a let off and release.

NOthing has changed.
You get to keep what you kill.  If it were easy there would be no value in it.
64" Silvertip 58# @ 31"

Offline Bullie

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2012, 12:16:00 PM »
I see where you are coming from but my question leans (pun intended) more toward the cant being necessary or desireable in one's shooting form with a traditional bow.  

I notice that most shooters cant a tradional bow and shoot a compound vertically.  Granted, the peep almost forces a verticle shot but, as you said, I do not have one now.

Current World Record Holder Grey Squirrel 1.96 B&S points.  Taken in the Mississippi hills.

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2012, 12:29:00 PM »