Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: Practice in small areas  (Read 683 times)

Offline NOVAnewbie

• Trad Bowhunter
Practice in small areas
« on: December 29, 2012, 10:08:00 AM »
Hello all, I'm just getting started on my Trad journey.  I've got my Sage, and now have some practice arrows.  

My limitation is that I live in a suburban development and have a pretty small backyard.  I'd say it is about 7 yards wide and about 3 yards deep.  There is a decent safe backstop (a brick wall). Realistically with target and my personal space I'll only be shooting at a target 5 yards away.

I plan on getting a target bag (from one of the sponsors) to do my daily practice there.  

The only times I'll be able to shoot longer distances is when I get out to the archery center about 45 min away, which is to say not often.  I also have access to 10 acres several hours away, which I get out to every few months.

I want to get good enough for hunting.  Will it be enough to practice form in the backyard and do shooting at 15-20 yards only occasionally?  I know that some practice is better than none, but will practicing at mainly shorter distances be detrimental to my hunting aspirations?

Offline NothingHappenedToday

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Practice in small areas
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 10:41:00 AM »