Shooters Forum

Contribute to Trad Gang
Become a Trad Gang Sponsor

Author Topic: arrows gone wild! please help  (Read 741 times)

Offline Whitehawk23

• Trad Bowhunter
arrows gone wild! please help
« on: February 20, 2013, 10:11:00 PM »
Ok well A) I'm new to shooting bows and all I shoot is my red oak self bow and B) I'm using $5 Wal-Mart arrows. so my question is why is it every time I shoot one of my arrows it goes all crazy like especially anything over 10 yards. so, is it the arrows my bow, a combination? All thoughts and critique welcome
"Good enough" is never good enough

Offline S.C. Hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: arrows gone wild! please help
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2013, 10:24:00 PM »
Probably because those $5 arrows are also a 5# spine. But they could also be overspined but I doubt it. How heavy is the draw weight on the bow? Are the arrows tipped with those cheap looking brass tips. Do the arrows have 2-3" plastic fletching. Just to many possible problems with no info to work with.
USMC 82-86

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2013, 10:27:00 PM »
Why don't you post a video of you shooting your bow so we can get an idea of what's happening?
TGMM Family of the Bow

Technology....the knack of arranging the world so that we don't have to experience it.

Offline Whitehawk23

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2013, 10:42:00 PM »
I have no idea what they're spined at. it says 35-50 and Idk what my draw weight is I don't have the proper tools to check that. like I said I'm really new to this. I'm on a tight budget (military doesn't pay so well lol) so that's why I have to kinda keep to the cheaper side of things. but ill try and post a video sometime this week

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2013, 10:50:00 PM »